Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   How to become a marine tech? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/89898-how-become-marine-tech.html)

MILD THUNDER 11-04-2004 06:31 PM

How to become a marine tech?

I am 24 years old. I am looking to get out of my construction career. It makes me miserable. I have been giving a lot of thought about going back to school. I have some experience on automobiles. I worked for 2 years as an apprentice through General Motors, at a pontiac gmc dealer. I attended classes for this program. I have also worked on cars since I was 14 years old. My question is, is there a lack of marine techs in the industry? I would love to work on performance boats and rig them. So why not make a career out of something I enjoy so much. Any input on this would be appreciated.

BRUCE SEROFF 11-04-2004 06:45 PM

Re: How to become a marine tech?

once you start doin it for a living, it wont be so much fun anymore.

just my .02

MILD THUNDER 11-04-2004 06:50 PM

I dont think it could be any worse than pouring concrete in 100 degree weather, and shoveling 10 tons of stone fill a day. :rolleyes:

BRUCE SEROFF 11-04-2004 06:52 PM

good point :D

LapseofReason 11-04-2004 07:39 PM

Well I turn a wrench for a living, I started on motorcycles as a kid then went to cars at 14 or so then pro at 18, ASE master tech at 24 then went back to bikes at 25 full time. I did bike's on the side all along because I raced, I was better at it than the people that worked at the bike shops so I had so much side work it was hard to do and I liked it better, so I went full time.