Notices

Rookie driving questions

Old 11-18-2005, 10:08 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rookie driving questions

I bought a new boat and I have some questions. I have had a 21 foot jet boat that I have been driving for 15 years. This year I bought a 27 ft Fountain and the difference between them is huge. Let’s start off with passing and crossing cruiser wakes. What is the proper way to do this? In my jet I would slowly creep up on them and then I would just go over them fast enough to carry my bow in the air, but dropping of plane and getting back on plane is a pain in the Fountain is a pain. When the cruisers would be coming at me I would aim the bow about at a place were the wakes were minimal and just hang on. Is this the same with a bigger boat? Speaking of plaining the boat, what is the proper way to do this, can you just pop one of these boats on plane or do you have to creep it up on plane. In the jet I just stood on the pedal and the boat would always pop right up. Any advise on running RPMs, in the jet I had no worries, but I was told that the way you drive your boat would be a big determining factor in how long my drive would last. I have had the boat for 4 months and I have already lost one drive doing nothing but cruising around at about 3500 RPMs with and occasional 5100 RPM blast.
Granted, the stock Bravo that was on the boat probably wasn’t in the best shape to begin with. I will be putting a new Imco Extreme SC on the boat this weekend and after what I paid for the drive I would like it to last a while. Is there any rule of thumb about running in the 3000 to 4000 RPM range? Thanks in advance for all of you suggestions.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:25 AM
Were doomed!
Charter Member

Received 939 Likes on 471 Posts
Default Re: Rookie driving questions