Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Whippled Or Procharged 496 Owners Please (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/94679-whippled-procharged-496-owners-please.html)

FASTERDAMITT 01-18-2005 04:04 PM

Whippled Or Procharged 496 Owners Please

I have'nt seen anyone post how many hours they have seen on thier 496 supercharged before major problems arrise. Everybody has heard the do's and donots but whats the facts. Justin seems to believe in his package, so does ATI for that matter. Any owners out there???

Sydwayz 01-18-2005 04:16 PM

Re: Whippled Or Procharged 496 Owners Please

I am not sure Docmanrich37 even got the engine hatch back on his Baja before he blew his blown 496HO. :D

My suggestion, although I have no personal experience, is to go with a Raylar Package. It just seems like a more sound way to reliably pep up the 496.

Myself, I am going with extended warranties on the HOs and the XZs. I like going fast, but I am not racing, and I like spanking down my warranty card rather than my credit card.

FASTERDAMITT 01-18-2005 05:30 PM

That sucks about his Baja. Many factors involved. Kind of supercharger? ECU programmed? Cooling system big enough?
I know of a Procharged carbed 7.4 with cast pistons 7#'s boost for 350 hours so far. He was told it would last.... Go figure.

shadow 01-18-2005 06:29 PM

Whats going on Tom?
Raylar is the way to go!!!!!!!! Hands down.Whipple and Pro Charger make a great product but not to set up on the 496.There are several shops here in Havasu with gernaded 496's laying around.It's not a matter of if."It's when".
First hand experience with Raylar.We just installed a Raylar set up on my boat and gained 13-14mph and cut the time to plane in 1/2.If you've seen the 496 disassembled youd know why nothing is going to work as well as the Raylar stuff.