Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Question for service Managers of all types (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/99943-question-service-managers-all-types.html)

racer-x6 04-05-2005 08:59 AM

Question for service Managers of all types

What is the policy at your service center in regards to people calling and wanting to talk to a Mechanic about how to fix there motor? At my store we have a big problem with people wanting to speak with a mechanic, I don't mind helping people out, when 10 people call and you spend 20 min on each call that adds up to not getting the paying jobs done.

1Boatnut 04-05-2005 09:14 AM

Re: Question for service Managers of all types

Well I'm an ex Dealer Service manager and my feelings were pretty much close to yours.
If someone's vehicle was in the shop being repaired and the customer wanted to talk to the tech I had NO PROBLEM with that..But if it was just a phone call looking for repair type information we had 1 standard line. Sorry we cannot diagnosis problems over the phone..

No different than having a TV repair man,heating and Ac,plumber,electrician,,,,etc.etc..etc..tell you whats wrong with something without seeing it.
Would you call your doctor and expect a competent diagnosis without him/her examining you? Well I guess some would :D

Shore Thing 04-05-2005 09:23 AM

On the flip side of that. If I had a problem that i thought i could fix myself but ran into a little difficulty and needed advice, i would hope i could call my local dealer for that advice. Service like that is what creates LOYAL customers who don't hesitate to bring you their boat for when those big jobs need to get done.

Just my $.02, i have never worked in a dealership or service center.

racer-x6 04-05-2005 09:24 AM