Hydraulic steering over 70 mph >

Hydraulic steering over 70 mph

Notices

Hydraulic steering over 70 mph

Old 08-30-2005, 12:27 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hydraulic steering over 70 mph

Why is this a good idea? The regular stock power steering won't hold up? What are the issues here?

Thanks
Old 08-30-2005, 02:51 PM
Registered

Default Re: Hydraulic steering over 70 mph

I am not an expert here but just installed a full hyd IMCO helm unit and got rid of that cable/Brazil valve POS. ALL of the free play is now gone, the effort is much reduced and the boat seems to handle much better (less chine walk) at all speeds.
Old 08-30-2005, 04:05 PM
Registered

Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts

I don't know where the "70 mph rule" came from but IMO it's a good idea on any boat that is driven hard and fast. Takes the stress off the tiller arm and gimbal ring and really tightens up the steering. It was a night and day difference on my Donzi Blackhawk.
Old 08-30-2005, 04:11 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I think the main issues is safety. With the higher prop torque there is more strain on the steering components and the chances of failure are increased. Given the higher possibility of failure and the higher rate of speed your chances of a bad accident are increased. If the P/S belt breaks at speed you are going to have a bad day. Control at speed is greatly increased with a hydraulic setup reducing the chances of any chine walk or other nasty traits.

As I see it those are the main points. If you are going into the 80's and above I would consider it a must. If you are mids 70's, depending upon boat weight, single or twins etc. you could get by with a Drew Marine stabilizer setup. This would give you a marginal safety factor but if your budget is a concern and you don't really hammer it too much that might be the way to go.
Old 08-30-2005, 06:16 PM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member