90 7.4L 330 hp questions >

90 7.4L 330 hp questions

Notices

90 7.4L 330 hp questions

Old 01-17-2006, 09:41 PM
Registered

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
Default 90 7.4L 330 hp questions

Hi all, i have been reading many posts in here about the pros and cons of upgrading a 330 454. I myself are one of the people with a very tight budget. I also like to tinker with the boat and would like to do just a little something to my engine. I am going to take off the stock flame arrester and put on a k & n, but i know it won't do much. I would like to change out my intake to possibly an aluminum one. My boat will be only in fresh water. I understand that the stock is cast and lined with brass? I also know that i have no room for a higher intake and will be sticking with the q-jet for the time being. Is there a specific intake that i can get? Thanks for the help, i know i'm a newbie and this has been discussed a million times.
Old 01-17-2006, 10:01 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 90 7.4L 330 hp questions

I'm running a 1989 330hp 454 and a limited budget also.

The best advice I've read here and on HotBoat is to give the ol' gal a good tune up, put synthetic oil in both the engine and outdrive and take any $$$ left over and invest them until you can afford to do something totally new. Changing any 1 or 2 things on the 330 will net you nearly nothing.

I'm saving my dollars for a ground up 454 with a goal of 550hp. When I'm ready to go on it I'll wait for the end of the season, pull the 330 and sell it, then use that money towards the new engine.

Seriously, tune it up, go synthetic and enjoy your very reliable engine!!!
Old 01-17-2006, 10:02 PM
Registered

Well, if height is a problem you will be very limited. I have the same problem and use Edelbrock Torker 2 intakes (the lowest I have found). They have a holley square bore pattern however. You wont pick up much without other mods.
Old 01-17-2006, 10:26 PM
Registered
VIP Member