![]() |
need an engine builder
Does anyone have any recommendations for an engine builder in the MD Baltimore area, even DE or northern VA.
With so many internet companies being unreputable or out of my price range. I don't need a 20k motor in a 25k boat! I'd like to find someplace local to do most of the machine work and some of the assy. I can do the rest. I need a 550HP motor built. I'd like a place to be experienced in marine but i can't seem to find anybody i would trust. Thanks |
Contact MDGPerformance here on the board. He is in Edgewater and has a sterling reputation. I haven't had any work done by him, but have talked to him many times. He is good people.
|
Why not just put a 500efi takeout in it????? It will be worth more than a custom engine when you go to sell it.
|
Thanks.
i thought about a 500efi. original motor was mpi. i'd really like to have carb motor. there are a lot of options it makes it hard to decide sometimes. Resale value definitly a factor. |
had my engines done by mancini machine in catonsville, they are good guys that have been in bussiness for many many years and really helped me out. work is done properly and you get what you pay for, they also deal with mdg performance, that is where i am having dyno work done
|
Originally Posted by steveh1209
(Post 2716995)
Thanks.
i thought about a 500efi. original motor was mpi. i'd really like to have carb motor. there are a lot of options it makes it hard to decide sometimes. Resale value definitly a factor. |
Given your location, you owe it to yourself to give Dave at MDG Performance a call. He builds a bullet proof combination and is honest as the day is long. This spring, MDG built a pair of 540/650hp motors for Konrad R&D. They have proven to be exceptionally reliable.
I highly recommend MDG Performance Kurt Konrad Marine |
i have a bunch of 500hp parts some brand new if that would help you out and i am 10 mins. away from you.
|
Thanks. I've heard of mancini before. i forgot about them. MDG is new to me. It's good to get to know what's out there local.
Bleachers : Let me know what you got? I may need sometging you have. |
call coil racing engines @ (815) 363-6950 HE IS THE BEST!! McHenry Il. His engines have been in some of the best cars in hot rod mag. Very resonably priced.
|
MMMMMMMMMMMDDDDDDDDDDDDGGGGGGGGGGG !!!
Like they said Dave is a very good engine builder and a Spectre Dealer. Jay the former owner of Spectre installed several of Dave's motors in Spectre Cats call him for an opinion 727-546-3000 Dave at MDG # 410-956-5381 |
Steve,
Take a look at this one in the classifieds. I know him and I did the heads on the engines. I dont think you could go wrong with it. It is a bit shy of 550, but should be bulletproof. Nothing but the best parts. Bill Koustenis Advanced Automotive Machine Waldorf Md 301-843-5700 |
Dave MDG Performance!!!!!!!!!!
|
motors
Originally Posted by steveh1209
(Post 2716672)
Does anyone have any recommendations for an engine builder in the MD Baltimore area, even DE or northern VA.
With so many internet companies being unreputable or out of my price range. I don't need a 20k motor in a 25k boat! I'd like to find someplace local to do most of the machine work and some of the assy. I can do the rest. I need a 550HP motor built. I'd like a place to be experienced in marine but i can't seem to find anybody i would trust. Thanks |
steveh1209, give me a call if you want to look at what parts i have to see if they will fit what you want to put together. 443-324-6979
|
I live in sykesville, I highly recommend MDG, only about 40 mins to get there, full dyno on site..build tested run, ready to drop in... He made this boat run like a dream...
http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/n...f/08CC5594.jpg |
if you are looking for a complete engine I have a new 482 w/177 weiand blower, complete from blower carb to offshore 10 qt pan, $7500, Rob
|
Hey don't use CMS in Middle River...if you do you will be sorry...
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM. |
Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.