Winterization question - True or False >

Winterization question - True or False

Notices

Winterization question - True or False

Old 04-22-2009, 03:50 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Winterization question - True or False

If you winterize an EFI engine(496 HO, 525, etc) using fogging oil, you run the risk of ruining the airflow sensors. T or F?

If this is true, what is the correct method to winterize these motors?
Old 04-22-2009, 08:06 PM
Registered

Received 19 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by Gladhe8er
If you winterize an EFI engine(496 HO, 525, etc) using fogging oil, you run the risk of ruining the airflow sensors. T or F?

If this is true, what is the correct method to winterize these motors?
From what I have read, True. But I have no first hand experience.

The correct method (according to the manual) is to mix in a small plastic fuel tank a 10:1 mix of fuel and 2-cycle TC-W3 outboard oil along with some fuel treatment/stabilizer. They call it a 'fogging mixture'. Connect the fuel tank to the fuel inlet fitting of the engine and run the engine at 1300 rpm for 5 minutes. Done. This is what I do every fall before putting it away for the winter.
Old 04-22-2009, 10:17 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

It is not recommended to spray fogging oil into ANY engine with a MAF (mass air flow sensor). It can goop on the sensor and skew the readings skewing the computer's self adjustments.

I don't do the mix/fuel can trick.

I run 3 gallons of antifreeze through the engine.
Then I pull the fuel/water separator, dump out 1/2 the gas, and fill it with 2-stroke oil. Re-install and run 3 more gallons through the engine.
Old 04-22-2009, 10:34 PM
Registered

Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts

I do the same as sydwayz however I use less antifreeze since it is a small block.
Old 04-23-2009, 12:09 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post