Electrical guru's...help a newbie will ya? 1995 Cig TG bow light

Notices

Electrical guru's...help a newbie will ya? 1995 Cig TG bow light

Old 09-03-2010, 08:32 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical guru's...help a newbie will ya? 1995 Cig TG bow light

***I posted this in Cig forum too***

Ok, so you can probably tell from the title that I'm not an expert with electrical...I just wanted to get that out of the way up front now please go easy on me and please HELP me...

Problem with bow/nav light...worked intermittently and now nothing. Tested light with test light, no power at bow light...hmm, okay, next tested switch with test light...here's where it gets interesting.

So it's a double pole, double throw switch right? I did search but I'm confused. The switch has a green light on top for the Nav function and a red light on the bottom for the Anchor function. When switched up to NAV the green WON'T light...I pulled the switch and tested all terminals. All had power, and when I touched the top left (when looking at it, green wire) the green light lit AND the test light lit...but still no light at the bow light.

Here's a pic of the switch

So a couple quesitons

1) Why aren't I getting power to the bow light?

2) Is the switch wired wrong?

3) Why does the switch light when I touch the green wire with the test light, but doesn't otherwise

Here's how the terminals are wired, looking down at the switch from drivers seat

Top Right terminal = Blue wire which is also run to bottom right switch

Middle right terminal = Red wire which is also run to middle left switch

Bottom right terminal = Blue from top right and a cream colored wire

Bottom left terminal = 2 white wires

Middle left terminal = Red wire from middle right terminal

Top left terminal = green wire

Please help guys, I want to get this working so I can enjoy Labor Day weekend without worrying about having to make it back home before dark.