Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   454 rebuild with blower... Pistons and clearances. (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/321923-454-rebuild-blower-pistons-clearances.html)

TomZ 01-11-2015 11:01 AM

Originally Posted by lil red (Post 4247697)
This is how I would do it not that I'm an expert
9:1 so it's not lazy, using the speed pro pistons with raw water cooling and no thermostat, .006-.007 piston to wall clearance. I had an issue, with .004 scuffing pistons with iron heads and a 174 blower.

Bench racing with a friend of mine here suggested sticking around 9:1 with high boost numbers and the aluminum heads. He made over 700 with his 496 using pretty much the same setup. I guess I'm being too conservative?

Any particular reason to go with a Speed-Pro over a JE?

TomZ 01-11-2015 11:09 AM

Originally Posted by airjunky (Post 4247694)
I seem to remember the guys from b&m to prefer around 7.5 to 1 and overdriven blowers with the 250 , on a street car would make for a glorious tire frier and suprisingly reasonable inlet tempatures.if you have aluminum heads get the block deck nice and flat and go mls gaskets and closed cooling should be able to make a reliable 550 or so hp with right cam and decent exhaust im building same thing now with flat tops and large ovals 122cc have some good 250 blower tech specs and extra parts also .pm me if you like ill share more about what ive learned about the ole original 250