Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   only one company that makes headers ?? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/327300-only-one-company-makes-headers.html)

FIXX 06-14-2015 02:05 PM

Originally Posted by Blueabyss (Post 4317371)

a friend bought a set of those..took him 3 months to get them from over seas..then he had issues with one..i think they yook a year b4 he could use them..

Bajadave04 06-14-2015 04:03 PM

I'm new to the boat thing. But really what's the advantage to cooling your headers other then the engine bay stays cool ? My family has a few muscle cars. 500-750hp. And the header don't need to be cooled. So what's the catch ????

Sydwayz 06-14-2015 04:43 PM

Originally Posted by Bajadave04 (Post 4317479)
I'm new to the boat thing. But really what's the advantage to cooling your headers other then the engine bay stays cool ? My family has a few muscle cars. 500-750hp. And the header don't need to be cooled. So what's the catch ????

Your car has a transmission, which allows the engine to operate at lower RPM.

Your boat is constantly operating at higher RPMs, thus creating a lot more heat.

Sometimes with open engine compartments, often seen in jet boats, you can run headers that are not cooled.

No way you can do this with the traditional engine compartment and engine hatch.

Bajadave04 06-14-2015 09:23 PM

I know this sounds crazy. But. Is there not a power loss to doing this ? A 2 stroke for example makes more power with a hot pipe,rather then a cold. Just an example.

BUP 06-14-2015 09:36 PM