Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   Hello, I new and have a carburetor question. (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/355590-hello-i-new-have-carburetor-question.html)

Baitkiller 07-25-2018 03:19 PM

Hello, I new and have a carburetor question.

My name is John, Baitkiller was my father and as such is bronzed into all of my forum handles. I have browsed here for years but never registered until now. I am a long time member of THT and a marine surveyor by trade.
My question revolves around my ski boat. I have an old restored Nautique that is bit of a bastard in that she runs a left handed Chevy instead of the Right turning Ford.
I recently replaced the long block from a 1990s 5.7 12 bolt intake engine to a Vortec that by all accounts should make a few more horsepower.
I have the thunderbolt 5 and merc Weber 4bbl.
The old motor ran like raped ape, the new one seems like it runs out of fuel over 4100RPM. It will gain power if I back off the throttle when wide open. i cant even pull one barefooter let alone the three I could with the old motor. Timing is full in at 32* and 3700. I have run on a shop can with no change. Carb has been gone through, new fuel pump installed. new cap and rotor, new wires and coil are ordered. The only thing I have left is jetting.
? Do the vortec heads flow that much more air that I need to drastically re-jet or replace the carbureter?
Advise or suggestions please.
Thank you,

Edit: I tired to correct the poor grammar in the thread title but have been denied. Sorry Mrs. Wilson, (4th grade English) I tried.
John

GPM 07-25-2018 03:30 PM

Curious, what direction are you running the new motor ?

GPM 07-25-2018 03:32 PM

Guessing you don't have a wideband 02 to check the A/f ratios, did you check any plugs for color ?

Baitkiller 07-25-2018 03:36 PM

left handed.
No gas analyzer.