Speed limited Blackhawk >

Speed limited Blackhawk

Notices

Speed limited Blackhawk

Old 07-06-2019, 09:11 AM
Registered

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Speed limited Blackhawk

All- I’ve been fighting this problem with my Blackhawk for a couple of months now and I’m looking for some thoughts from some of you that may have experienced this.
Background is that this boat has not seen a lot of activity in the last four or five years, so the usual suspects coming to mind. However, I am not as familiar with the big block Chevy is I am small block so I’m looking for maybe some new areas that might not have full experience in.
Generally, the boat seems to be limited to 3500 to 4000 RPM. I’ve done the trimming in the tabs on this boat and do see some difference, but I’m not seeing the full speed that it should be seeing. The engine is a 502 magnum. I’ve refreshed the fuel as much as possible, replaced the spin on filter and even put some seafoam and injector cleaner into the fuel system. It might be getting a little better, but I’m thinking there may be a filter somewhere that I’m not familiar with that maybe his plug? Any thoughts that come to mind? I was to i’ve refreshed the fuel as much as possible, replaced the spin on filter and even put some seafoam and injector cleaner into the fuel system. It might be getting a little better, but I’m thinking there may be a filter somewhere that I’m not familiar with that maybe his plug? Any thoughts that come to mind? Looking at some of the diagrams for this Gen V1 engine, looks like there is a fuel cooler down under the engine, but not sure if anything there could present a problem.

Last edited by sandslot; 07-06-2019 at 09:13 AM.
Old 07-06-2019, 03:07 PM
Registered

Received 110 Likes on 82 Posts

Verify throttle rigging is getting the throttle blades all the way open.
Remove, clean and flow test the injectors. These engines will lay down and lean out with injectors that haven't been used much.

That's where I'd start.