350 Magnum, no spark on new motor

Notices

350 Magnum, no spark on new motor

Old 09-04-2019, 08:58 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 350 Magnum, no spark on new motor

Hi,
I am a brand new member here and I need some help with a 350 magnum, Multi Point Injection engine that I just put together. Serial number OMO28646. My issue here is that I cannot get any ignition spark .

I used to work as a mercruiser mechanic 30 years ago but now I work on trains and haven't kept up with technology. In other words I don't see how I can trouble shoot this ignition system the old way with a test light like I did going back 50 years...lol.

It is my understanding that the pulse signal goes thru the ECM. I don't think I am getting a signal and I don't know how to check to see if I am. When I pull the primary wires off of the coil, the negative side feeding the coil is HOT with the ignition hot wired but the positive side is not. The positive side is hot when the wires are hooked back up because the voltage is going thru the coil of course. When I crank the engine over both primary sides of the coil remain hot. I do not see any signs of a signal being sent to the coil.

I picked up this engine disassembled and put it back together with new heads and therefore have never heard it run. I am trying to start this thing on the floor and when I hot wire the harness plug the fuel pump comes on for 2 seconds, so I am told the ignition should be hot as well.

Thanks in advance for helping an old man with his old Pachanga!
Old 09-04-2019, 03:31 PM
Registered

Received 471 Likes on 367 Posts

Thanks for the serial number
Gen 1 cool fuel, EST distributor and MEFI 1 ECM

When cranking the motor you should see the tach come up around 300 rpm
Here is how the EST system is tested

Do you hear any beeps when the key is turned ON, or hear the fuel pump prime for couple seconds?
Old 09-04-2019, 05:07 PM
Registered

Hi,