Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
What are your thought's on changing this Triple to a Staggered? >

What are your thought's on changing this Triple to a Staggered?

Notices

What are your thought's on changing this Triple to a Staggered?

Old 10-04-2004, 12:09 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 53 Likes on 28 Posts
Default What are your thought's on changing this Triple to a Staggered?

Humor me please even though I may no my answer already.

I have been working on and gathering all the parts now for a little over 2 years to put
my project boat together. It is a 46' V-bottom Cougar with a triple engine 572's with
#6 drives pushing 720hp each. The boat is a kevlar Hull aswell.

All my boating would be pleasure boating, maybe one poker-run a year and maybe
one or two trips a year.

So after continueing to go through all this and the learning curve that goes with anything.
Ideally a 41' boat with staggereds would be a nicer balance. But Cougar's aren't the easiest
boat to sell unless your a cougar die hard. So I continue to work on this old Girl.

After watching Hot Ducks 45' Apache with twins get reworked and dialed in by Tres Martin,
I was intrigued. Out side of the money spent to convert it, would the trade off be worth
it to change this big of a boat from triples to a twin side by side or a staggered.

I would have to bump the power up some, how much ??
I wouldn't be the fastest guy out there, but that hasn't been a concern anyways.
Plus it's more fun watching WickedWon wake allot of these new boys up with his obsolete,
ride. I would be happy to run in the 80's...................

The V-berth was eliminated prior to me owning in to remove some weight. And I
have considered removing more and maybe running a 1/2 or 1/4 cabin for more
weight savings.

1) So who has run triples and changed to staggereds and why?

2) Or changed from staggereds back to triples and why?

3) Pro's and con's of (my) particular boat running it either way.