Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   Early style head swap for Vortech? Need help please. (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/93652-early-style-head-swap-vortech-need-help-please.html)

Led Sled 01-03-2005 01:50 AM

Early style head swap for Vortech? Need help please.

Hi all... I'm new to the make my boat go a bit faster world. I can't seem to get any straight answers from any one...Water jackets on early "69-85" and late model "86-up" the same? Can I ditch the vortech heads and intake on my 89 5.7 for early style heads and manifold? Any cooling issues? What about valve train geometry? I was planing on the following up grades to speed things up.
1. Through hull exhaust.
2. Good after-market heads "Dart Iron Eagle"
3. Cam and Manifold to match heads
4. MSD ignition
5. Drive shower
6. 14 3/4 x 23 prop

Any susgestions would be great.
Thanks again. :D

Iggy 01-03-2005 07:01 AM

Re: Early style head swap for Vortech? Need help please.

No problem swapping the heads and intake. Water passages are the same.

Just remember that the Vortec intake uses a different bolt pattern than the older style (no center bolts).
Actually there are three bolt patterns for the intake. Don't know the manufacturing year but just before the Vortec heads came out the center two intake bolts were drilled on a different angel (straight up, vertical) than the years preceding (perpendicular to intake surface). Be sure you have the correct intake for the heads.

BTW what's wrong with the Vortec heads?
There are many SBC engines making 425+ HP with the Vortec heads. All they need is a little modification to allow a higher lift cam. The Vortec heads also make great torque.

rmbuilder 01-03-2005 09:37 AM

Try this thread, it may be helpful
http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=93389
Bob

Led Sled 01-03-2005 11:56 AM