Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   90 7.4L upgrade? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/99831-90-7-4l-upgrade.html)

cloudmaster_321 04-03-2005 10:28 PM

90 7.4L upgrade?

I would like to do some mild upgrades to this engine. Was thinking about putting a mild modified cam and different lifters/rockers..... I take it that the current configuration is hydralic lifters? and non roller rockers? Anyone have some ideas for me for a cam and setup to get a couple more ponies out of her? I'm new at the engine stuff, but i want to get my hands dirty in it. thanks

JCPERF 04-03-2005 10:52 PM

Re: 90 7.4L upgrade?

Originally Posted by cloudmaster_321
I would like to do some mild upgrades to this engine. Was thinking about putting a mild modified cam and different lifters/rockers..... I take it that the current configuration is hydralic lifters? and non roller rockers? Anyone have some ideas for me for a cam and setup to get a couple more ponies out of her? I'm new at the engine stuff, but i want to get my hands dirty in it. thanks

You can put a cam in the range of about .550 lift and 230-240 at .050 in duration.You could mill the heads to bring up the compression.Head work [porting] is a decent power maker too.

cloudmaster_321 04-03-2005 11:05 PM

what is stock lift and duration, doesn your second and third set of numbers refer to the lifters, or still the cam, any manufactures for the cam or lifers/rockers??

Griff 04-04-2005 12:45 AM

Originally Posted by cloudmaster_321
what is stock lift and duration, doesn your second and third set of numbers refer to the lifters, or still the cam, any manufactures for the cam or lifers/rockers??

those would be duration numbers as measured at .050 and refer to the cam. that is how most cams are listed.

Have you ever installed a cam???