Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Insurance and Finance (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/insurance-finance-198/)
-   -   First time boat buyer... Financing questions... (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/insurance-finance/174864-first-time-boat-buyer-financing-questions.html)

baddogz28 12-07-2007 01:08 PM

First time boat buyer... Financing questions...

I'm pretty new to the performance boating community, and have been bitten by the bug to purchase my own boat.

I don't want to (and cannot afford) to buy a crazy, $100k rig. Probably going to be looking at late 80's, early 90's Stingers, Scarabs and the like... Somewhere in the $30k range.

Here is my financial situation:

I am a 676 with transunion (bureau shows a couple perfect car loans, some old paid CC collections and an unpaid medical collection.)
I have lived at my address for 2 years and do not pay a mortgage or rent.
I make approximately $50k-60k per year and have paystubs to prove it.
My only debt is my car which is a $423 payment.

I will have a cosignor/partner with similar or slightly better credit.

My questions are:

Is it possible that I will be able to finance a boat of that age?
Does it sound like we would qualify for a loan?
If so, what 'ballpark' term and rate would this type of boat qualify for?
What approximate downpayment do you think would be required?

I know that is a lot to digest in one post, but anything anyone on this site can do to help is greatly appreciated. Look forward to seeing you guys on the water.

Chris

Loan Ranger 12-07-2007 04:22 PM

Chris,