Notices

Fox River/Chain O Lakes

Old 09-24-2007, 02:40 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Fox River/Chain O Lakes

I will not be able to make the River Shiver, but want to learn more about the Fox Lake, Chain O Lakes area in preparation for next year. I have never been on the Chain O lakes...so let's hear the good and the bad.

From the areas I have looked, it looks like there is a ton of sightseeing both on the river and lakes.

Where are some good places to go/put in?

From what I am reading my prop will be doing some mowing in Grass Lake. So I will be staying away from there. Is it really that bad on the entire Chain O Lakes area? I do not like to make needless repairs to gelcoat, props, or lower units.
Old 09-24-2007, 07:37 AM
Registered

Received 217 Likes on 112 Posts

Iam sure alot of people are going to chime in that dont like the chain.
Ive been boating there for over 25 years and like it.
I never once lost a outdrive/skeg or a prop.
Knock on wood I never had any prop repairs done for at least the last 10+ years.you have to follow the markers.
It does get busy but there plenty of places to go to get away from it.
Old 09-24-2007, 09:24 AM
Registered

Grass Lake is fine if you are in the main channels, everybody uses this lake.
Trim up in the channels between lakes and stay near the center and you should be fine.
Watch the bouys most areas are well marked.

Most of the chain is nothing more than a flooded swamp, but some lakes are deep, mostly the northern ones. There are some good bars but I only go to the ones with good docks or in a no wake. Otherwise it will beat your boat up real bad, if they have bad docks dont go there its not worth it.
Old 09-24-2007, 09:51 AM
Registered

As I said I have never been there, but I have heard there is more to do on the Southern portion including the River?