Looking for prop size advice >

Looking for prop size advice

Notices

Looking for prop size advice

Old 06-10-2018, 04:55 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Looking for prop size advice

boat has Ilmor 650’s, I’m new to these and learning. Brovo XR drives, 1.5 ratio. Last year owner hit something in water and messed up a herring 26 pitch, 5 blade prop. He bought 26” non herring props from Teague. Boat seems to be way under propped to me.

Suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Old 06-10-2018, 05:16 PM
Registered

Received 471 Likes on 367 Posts

What is your WOT RPM, and GPS speed?
Old 06-10-2018, 06:52 PM
Registered

Max rpm is 6300 according to Ilmor. Max hp is at 6000, boat runs 91 to 93 mph at 6000-6100. I’ve only test driven the boat. Waiting on funds to settle and transport to get it here. Chime walks pretty good above 90 mph.
Old 06-10-2018, 09:54 PM
Registered

Received 110 Likes on 82 Posts

I don't think you are under propped if you aren't banging off the rev limiter.
Old 06-10-2018, 09:54 PM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

Not under propped at all. Actually the numbers look about perfect assuming 1.5 ratio drives. Its at 8% propslip.
Old 06-11-2018, 02:39 PM
Registered

Thanks for the input, I am no expert, and I know that, more like I know just enough to be dangerous and ask dumb questions.