Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Scarab (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/scarab-41/)
-   -   Scarab Panther always a work in progress (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/scarab/281075-scarab-panther-always-work-progress.html)

Rookie 07-19-2012 10:49 PM

Scarab Panther always a work in progress

4 Attachment(s)
So I had been gathering up pics of my Panther and the different transformations the old beast has been going through over the years. I have been meaning to post this in the Scarab section for a while, but had never got around to doing it.

For starters like a lot of others I am not a professional. Working on boats is not my job.....sometimes it feels like a second job that I don't get paid for. I consider it my apprenticeship. :)

I will try to post pics in chronological order to the repairs/restoration/upgrades.

I purchased my Panther in October 2002. I didn't know what I was getting into. I had cash in hand and wanted and '80's Scarab Panther since I was a kid. I didn't know what a Florida saltwater boat was....... :eek:

Here is the shape when I bought it.

Rookie 07-19-2012 10:57 PM

5 Attachment(s)
The Panther ran flawless for the first 4 year just gas and oil. Full throttle everywhere. Those Merc 420's were great engines and it would run 71 +or- depending on conditions.

The first upgrade I decided was to paint the whole boat white. Then I would have a blank canvas for later if I wanted to add graphics. I thought since the boat was named White Knuckle why not paint everything all white. Drives, tabs and the Drew Marine Sidewinders (steering stabilizers). I also changed the font on the name.

The red lines were sanded out and then painted with DuPont single stage Chroma-One.

Rookie 07-19-2012 11:17 PM

2 Attachment(s)