Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Restorations & Upgrades (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/restorations-upgrades-285/)
-   -   40' Outlaw Upgrades - Twin 900Sc to 1000hp Duramax Diesels (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/restorations-upgrades/339900-40-outlaw-upgrades-twin-900sc-1000hp-duramax-diesels.html)

315duramax 08-08-2016 07:59 PM

Originally Posted by 2187 (Post 4468152)
Hi there guys...and gals!

It's Dave from Sydney, Australia, the owner of this great project.

I have been dreaming of building this project for about 5 years, but have searched unsuccessfully for the right people to make this happen.

The tradition, as far as I can see it, is that a Poker Run Boat can only have a BBC or get off the train...so to speak.

Now we're I live at Northbridge, in Sydney, we have a small bay, just down the hill from were I live and the marina has only 29 wets berths, so it is very hard to get a berth, almost to the point where you need to have it passed onto you....anyway, was lucky enough to score a berth and bought a beautiful day boat of 44 foot, built in Australaj in the mid 1990's by Riviera in Australia and called the Diavolo. My model was called the America's Cup Edition and they only made 12. Mine has been completely rebuilt and is absolutely stunning. Anyway I was talking to the mechanics at the Marina about my desire to build a diesel Poker Run Boat and they said why don't you just bring the hull in and fit s couple of 525's and be done with it......and I said well were the bloody challenge in that.......beyond which, the prospect of motoring out of our quiet bay with BBC's would have people run me out of my own neighbourhood.......I hopped onto OSO and found a gem, a nice soft hulled Baja 40 Outlaw and off we went....