Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Sonic (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/sonic-46/)
-   -   2001 sonic prowler 260 questions (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/sonic/349919-2001-sonic-prowler-260-questions.html)

racer79 09-21-2017 08:50 AM

2001 sonic prowler 260 questions

Good morning everybody im new to Offshoreonly.com and i have some questions about a prowler that im considering purchasing. its a 2001 260 prowler with 496 ho motor (500 hours +/-) . the current owner purchased it from the original owner down in the chesapeake bay area. its my understanding that in that area its a mixture of salt and fresh water? i believe brackish is the term. should i be concerned about its exposure to salt water? is there anything specific i should look at as far as salt damage?
Did the 2001 models have any known issues i should be aware of? Ive owned several boats over the years but this will be my first power boat so any advice is greatly appreciated thanks

racer79 09-27-2017 09:04 PM

ttt

GO4BROKE 09-30-2017 03:10 PM

No specific issues with a 2001. As for the salt exposure, it all depends how well it was maintained. Look for corrosion, paint blister, corroded wires, rust. Get the a survey or at least have the hull checked for moisture content, as with any used boat purchase.

racer79 09-30-2017 03:23 PM

i did some research and found a fella that has a good reputation for doing survey and sea trial. I made arrangement's with him for a complete inspection. I figure it's money well spent.

rak rua 09-30-2017 09:40 PM