Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Southeast US (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/southeast-us-243/)
-   -   Lake Worth, Fl. Where to go with boat? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/southeast-us/222272-lake-worth-fl-where-go-boat.html)

Ike79 01-05-2010 01:32 PM

Lake Worth, Fl. Where to go with boat?

Me, my girlfriend and two friends are coming to Florida feb/7 2010. We have my 26 foot Wellcraft waiting for us at Lake Worth. I have never been on boat in Florida, except twice on Jungle Queen =),and I am a boating newbie anyway. So what do local guys think, any recommendations where to go and what to do?
How long run it will be from Lake worth to Ft. Lauderdale airport (To griffin road and I-95 intersection) thru ICW?
I have heard and read from this forum that Banana boat an Two georges are worth to visit. Is there any sense to go to Miami boat show with boat, where to park?
Thanks in advance.

happy hours 01-05-2010 07:54 PM

Peanut Island by the Blue Heron Bridge is a cool hangout from what I know. (live on west coast, but traileed boat there last summer.

Keith Atlanta 01-05-2010 09:35 PM

The Miami boat show is the following weekend (13th & 14th) From Lake worth it would be a 3+ hour trip to Miami on the ICWW. I wouldnt even try it without GPS in your boat... I dont think it would be fun unless you got out of the inlet and you had decent sea's to get down there.

Key Lime is right there on Lake Worth about 1.5 miles north of Banana Boat & Two Georges (just to the left before you go under the bridge) You can go a little further south and park at the former Bushes restaurant and walk around in Delray on Atlantic. Then 2-3 miles south is Boca Inlet & Boca Lake. A mile south of that is The Cove (bar) then 3 miles more and you hit Lighthouse Point & Ft Lauderdale. If you hit ALL of those bars you may as well call it a day cause you;ll be wasted. FYI - watch the no wake zones south of Boca - they are strict.