Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > Trucks, Trailers and Transportation
pendulum of death ...trailer guru needed !! >

pendulum of death ...trailer guru needed !!

Notices

pendulum of death ...trailer guru needed !!

Old 09-25-2016, 10:20 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default pendulum of death ...trailer guru needed !!

:triple axle venture, just put all new bushings , tires and aligned it...towing with a 2500hd duramax and like the title says ...she swings alot sometimes pretty big...im guessing maybe the wheel set needs to go back farther ?? hauling a scarab thunder w twin 454 aprox 8500lbs fyi i drive a semi for a living... thoughts ??
Old 09-25-2016, 10:27 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 3,043 Likes on 1,355 Posts

Sounds like its trying to tricycle on ya, maybe a little more tongue weight ??.......
Old 09-25-2016, 10:30 AM
Registered

I have the same problem with my 2014 Shorelander duel axle. I have been told the wheel set needs to move back. Tongue weight is the answer.
Old 09-25-2016, 11:02 AM
Registered

Received 569 Likes on 236 Posts

Tongue weight should be at least 5% of the total load weight.

Also the trailer should ride level front to back, use the right combination of tow bar to achieve the desired height.
Old 09-25-2016, 01:16 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

Take your loaded rig to a scale and get us 2 weights:

1) Total of boat on scale which hitched to truck. (trailer axles on scale, truck completely off of scale)
2) Drop the tongue jack on the scale, and lift the weight of the trailer completely off the ball. (entire weight of your towed load)

If you want to go even further, get individual truck axle weights too, when hitched to the boat, and then leave the boat in the lot and go back with just the truck only.

Before you do any of the above, make sure you have a hitch drawbar that makes the trailer sit level. Check with a level on the trailer frame rail.