Notices

Noise in 4 wheel Drive

Old 02-01-2017, 01:34 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Noise in 4 wheel Drive

Hi again everyone -

I am a novice on this.

We may purchase a 2004 GMC 2500 4x4 diesel. It has electronic 4 wheel drive. My question is - when you are driving along and decide to put it in 4wheel drive (high) and press the button - should I expect to hear ANY (or what kind should I hear) noise? I want to make sure that I understand this before we take it on a test drive.

I have a 1500 Dodge with a manual lever to put it into 4 wheel drive so yes I hear a noise when it goes into gear

Thanks for all the information -- I truly appreciate your time

3pointstar
Old 02-01-2017, 01:41 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,172 Likes on 511 Posts

I have a 2003, same running gear. I do hear a solid "clunk" as the front differential engages. I can't remember the speed, but you are only supposed to do it at 35mph or less. IIRC, there is a solenoid that is engaging the front differential. As such, it's either open or closed (on or off), kind of like your magnetic actuators for Silent Choice exhaust on a boat. Further, it doesn't ease into place like you would do with a manual floor shifter.
Old 02-01-2017, 01:49 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Depends on how cold it is out.. Steels the colder it is the thicker oil or gear lube makes them slow engaging and they will make some noise..slower speeds seem to clunk less..
Old 02-01-2017, 01:58 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by Sydwayz
I have a 2003, same running gear. I do hear a solid "clunk" as the front differential engages. I can't remember the speed, but you are only supposed to do it at 35mph or less. IIRC, there is a solenoid that is engaging the front differential. As such, it's either open or closed (on or off), kind of like your magnetic actuators for Silent Choice exhaust on a boat. Further, it doesn't ease into place like you would do with a manual floor shifter.