Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Trucks, Trailers and Transportation (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/trucks-trailers-transportation-159/)
-   -   Car trailer advice: (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/trucks-trailers-transportation/345053-car-trailer-advice.html)

Sydwayz 02-27-2017 04:26 PM

Car trailer advice:

What do you know now, that you wish you knew then (before you purchased)?

I will be hauling various cars on few hour trips.
Some of them will be quite low(rider) cars.
Weights will range between 2500 and 6000 lbs.

Steel?
Aluminum?
Metal deck?
Wood deck?
Metal AND wood deck?

I'm not worried about wheels/tires; I have plenty of experience there, and will likely supply my own.

I just want a trailer that can sit 98% of the time, but we worry free and trusted when I do want to use it.

Many thanks.

Unlimited jd 02-27-2017 05:03 PM

I always liked my wood deck, if anything leaked on it it soaked in instead of leaving a slick surface to toss me on my assignment. Had mine when I was younger and 9 out of 10 vehicles going on it were shot boxes. Lol

Wobble 02-28-2017 05:42 AM

i used a 22' tilt deck car trailer, recently. Makes getting the cars on a breeze. Lowest one was a gen1 viper. No brand was obvious, hydraulic tilt and regular winch.

racinfast002 02-28-2017 07:07 AM

If I could do it over again I would have saved all my pennies and bought an aluminum one. Obviously the most expensive choice, but they are light and pull well. I had a wood dove tail that I traded over to a steel deck. Replacing busted boards got old. Also really like the electric trailer brakes, make sure you spring for that option no matter what trailer you get.

F-2 Speedy 02-28-2017 07:22 AM

Looooong ramps........enclosed or open

carajn 02-28-2017 07:32 AM

best car trailer I ever bought. no rattling ramps, tows straight, easy loading.... http://www.kwikload.com/products/car-hauler.html

ben 02-28-2017 08:00 AM