Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Velocity (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/velocity-40/)
-   -   Early 80's Velocity Fishing Boat (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/velocity/362159-early-80s-velocity-fishing-boat.html)

UncleBoatMan 08-01-2019 09:47 AM

Early 80's Velocity Fishing Boat

Several years ago I saw a Craigslist ad for a Steve Stepp hull Velocity set up as a fishing boat. It was powered by 2 Johnson outboards (or Evinrudes), cross-flow (pretty sure) and had the "Velocity 100 mph" emblem on it. I think it was a 1980 boat and engines, and I believe it was 30 ft. Clearly I am not a Velocity expert, and I did not have an interest in a fishing boat. I bought a Laveycraft instead.

Now I am interested in getting a fishing boat and this set up haunts me. i can't seem to find any Velocity from the era like it. Does anyone know what this would have been?

Thank you in advance for the help.

speicher lane 08-01-2019 11:30 AM

There are a few 26' bay boats and a few 22' Thoroughbred and a 20' (Center Consoles) on powerboat listings BUT, that site has listings where some boats have changed multiple times and they are still there.

Is it possible that it was a I/O boat that was cut up into a C.C - similar to a few 28' Cigs?

Padraig 08-01-2019 11:54 AM

Can't help with the old one but Velocity was new fishing style boats. www.velocityboays.com

Padraig

UncleBoatMan 08-02-2019 12:52 PM

Thanks. I am definitely looking for the 1980's hull I described and not some other Velocity/Thoroughbred/Wellcraft boat or any other fishing boat. My interest is in being educated about this particular Velocity from the 80's.

This hull would have been made the way it sat. To modify if from another set up would mean to use and modify only the actual hull, setting it up for outboards instead of i/o, and building a new one off deck and all other aspects of the boat. It would be far cheaper to make it from scratch.