Notices

Robby Woods 32 Skater....

Old 06-01-2012, 01:22 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Robby Woods 32 Skater....

Hey guys I'm new to the offshore powerboat world and I've got some questions that I'd be very grateful for answers. I've been all over the map from a DCB to a vintage Cigarette and after talking to everyone in the business and how I'd like to build a boat I've decided there is no option for me other than a Skater. Peter has been extremely helpful and eager to work with me. I race off road trucks for a living and also engineer and build them at our shop almost all in house. We have a CNC mill, lathe, and waterjet so I'm going to do most of it myself. Peter has been the only builder seriously interested in reasonably facilitating my project.
So I'll be buying a 32 flatdeck widened 12 inches, full wrap windshield and extended bussell, to accommodate the Arneson #7 drives. We'll be building a pair of injected 700 inch donovan big blocks in house. Rick has also been extremely helpful. So here it goes, please reference the question with your answers I'm super eager to hear your thoughts. Cheers Robby Woods

Engine: I hear that tolerances are much more loose in marine engines do to constant load. What tolerances do people speak of and any examples. How loose?

Closed Loop: Heat exchangers, Who makes them, what do you think of them?

Water Pump: Who makes a solid pump and what are your thoughts on stages?

Cam Shafts: Are there go to manufactures that will sell a proven cam package for the marine industry?

Power Steering: What kind of pump and who makes the best? Or do you prefer helm steering? Why?

Alternators: What are marine specific alternators? How many amps are sufficient?

Exhaust: Cooling before the heat exchangers or after?