Fastest Single engine V >

Fastest Single engine V

Notices

Fastest Single engine V

Old 05-20-2013, 08:09 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fastest Single engine V

I am interested in an updated version of the thread for fastest single engine V and what was the setup?
A friend is looking to purchase a single V, because of the roominess versus a cat, but would like to run 100 MPH.
In your opinion what is the best handling single engine v-bottom from 25-29, for going over 100 MPH with a reasonable power level?
This may get controversial but lets hear it anyway.
Old 05-21-2013, 02:06 AM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

25-29' V bottoms are not designed to run 100mph....well at least not until the last few years when OL came out with their 29.
Old 05-21-2013, 10:02 AM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm new to the powerboats as of the last 3 years. I just finished my 98 280 velocity and it is pretty damn fast with a pretty mild motor. I have a 509 with 088 heads (mild port work and 2.250 intake valves), 741 cam, b&m 250 with a single carb. I only got 3 psi with the b&m 250. Estimated hp was in the 650-675 range (guessing based on what I've read similar setups have made). With 4 people in the boat we ran WOT for a very short period of time and the motor went to 5400 rpms very quickly with a 30p bravo and the GPS was in between 86-88. The boat was still accelerating very hard, but I got nervous and let out. It was very fast since I was used to a 62-63 mph Baja I had before. I'm buying a 420 mega blower with super chiller and going to run 7 psi. Should be in the 800 hp range and I'm sure if you had the nerve to hold it at WOT it would run 100 mph. I enjoy the fast cruise I get from the added hp and big props. Steve stepp the owner of velocity says with a real 700 hp the boat will run 95-100 mph. Again, its to fast for me at this point, but gives a great cruise.