Drive question on my 220

Notices

Drive question on my 220

Old 03-15-2011, 04:54 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drive question on my 220

Hey guys,
I have a question on my 85' 220 sport I recently bought. The boat originally came with a 350 motor (270hp) with an Alpha 1 drive and the previous owner put in a 454 magnum bravo (365hp) in it with the Alpha. My question is, is this motor too much hp for an Alpha....should I be looking to swap it out for a Bravo? The boat is in very, very good shape for it's age and plan on keeping it for awhile. Once again Im new to the IO scene as I was an outboard drag boat racer for years....so I've got the learning curve going on...lol......thanks, Brad.
Old 03-15-2011, 10:06 AM
Registered

Received 18 Likes on 9 Posts

I have heard 400HP is the limit, if you are easy on it you will probably be OK. If you can find a deal on a complete bravo setup that would be a good idea. You would need the inner and outer transom assembly, the drive and a seawater pump. The cutout is the same but you would have to drill 2 more holes. The only thin I am not sure of is if it would change the drive depth. If you lower the drive deeper it will hurt your speed.
Old 03-15-2011, 01:33 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'd run it till it breaks & then buy a reman Alpha with a warranty. It is too much $$ to change over to a Bravo. All this assuming you'll leave the motor alone.
Old 03-15-2011, 02:00 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

If you do decide to go to a bravo set up I have a 2003 Complete transom assy. That you can buy for $1000. Everything you need less a drive.
Attached Thumbnails Drive question on my 220-3.jpg   Drive question on my 220-2.jpg   Drive question on my 220-4.jpg  

Old 03-16-2011, 03:30 AM
Registered