Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Baja
04 232 496 with new impeller not picking up water? Duct tape? >

04 232 496 with new impeller not picking up water? Duct tape?

Notices

04 232 496 with new impeller not picking up water? Duct tape?

Old 05-02-2018, 12:43 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 232 496 with new impeller not picking up water? Duct tape?

Hey guys! My 04 232 496 has 80 hours on it and Im fairly new to the boat. The previous owner used to use duct tape to hold the muffs on when flushing the engine which I thought was ridiculous. I just recently change the impeller thinking that would solve the problem but it hasn't. So with these Bravo ones do you honestly have to tape the holes up and tape on the muffs to get the thing to flush properly? I've owned Alpha ones and Bravo 3''s on other boats but never had this issue. Any help on this would be great

Also I changed the gimbal bearing and obviously had to put new leg oil in and topped up reservoir. All the fluids are up on everything but I get an alarm going off with the key turned on but not started. The alarm still stays on with the engine running. Any ideas??

Cheers!!!
Old 05-03-2018, 09:05 AM
Registered

Received 124 Likes on 45 Posts

If you have a dual pickups on your outdrive then yes you need to duct tape the lower ones shut. If this is the first time starting the boat since it's been in the water I've heard that getting the sea pump to prime can be an issue. The easiest fix for this is to start the boat at a ramp. The alarm is probably the water pressure sensor throwing a code since you weren't pumping water it should go away once you get water pressure.

Last edited by iaoutlaw; 05-03-2018 at 09:09 AM.
Old 05-03-2018, 09:27 AM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts