Thoughts On This? >

Thoughts On This?

Notices

Thoughts On This?

Old 11-02-2020, 06:28 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Thoughts On This?

Hi all. Newbie here. New not just to Cig but to boat ownership in general. I've been lusting after Cigarette boats for most of my 55 years. Now I'm in a position to start looking for one, albeit a used, small one.

that brings me to the reason for my post. I came across this ad here on the South Florida Craigslist. The poster listed no model, just the info below. Is this a reputable year, model? Is it too many hours on motors? What should I be looking for or asking the seller?

Here is the CL post as written:
"Up for sale is a clean 1986 28 ft Cigarette. This boat is in great condition and shows well. It is powered by twin Mercruiser 5.7s with TRS out drives. The motors have about 380 hours on them and are turn key. Cruising speed is 45mph with a top end speed of 65mph. It has a 100 gallon fuel tank. Trailer is about 2 years old and is in great condition. This boat needs nothing, it has been professionally maintained and kept under roof and cover. Ready to hit the water. Selling with life jackets, anchor, ropes and fenders. Asking $28,500 OBO."

Thank you...

Last edited by Geoff9; 11-03-2020 at 03:40 AM. Reason: Photos too small
Old 11-02-2020, 08:14 PM
Registered

Received 203 Likes on 112 Posts

I will answer one of your questions. The model is a 28ss. And the pictures are too small to tell much else. Congrats on getting a boat.
The following users liked this post:
SB (11-02-2020)
Old 11-03-2020, 07:00 AM
Registered

Received 128 Likes on 67 Posts

Nice looking Cigarette, congrats.
Old 11-03-2020, 07:10 AM
Registered

Received 469 Likes on 277 Posts

Find a reputable marine surveyor and have a complete bow to stern assessment. They do not always tell the real story of the boat but should find red flags (transom/stringer rot) etc.