Notices

starting procedure

Old 08-09-2008, 03:49 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default starting procedure

Hi guys

yup i'm a newbie!

ok so i bought a crownline this week, got my ICC licence (europe) and am ready to go, just giving the boat a good clean and went to start the engine and realised i've driven it with the previous owner dozens of times but i've never started it, soo if someone would be kind enough to elighten someone feeling like an idiot not knowing how to properly start up his boat hehe

i know i need to put the blowe on for 4 mins first, what i'm mainly stuck on is the throttle and having it in and out of gear, i'm starting it up on the trailer with ear muffs on. Do i need to pump it first a couple of times and then put it back to neutral to start it?

to rev it does the clutch button on the throttle control put it into gear when i move the control forward or put it out of gear?

thanks
Old 08-09-2008, 04:20 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

If you post more info on the boat, such as engine(s), etc, we could give you better info.

Blower is an absolute must. I also won't start an engine that is cold or hasn't been run in more than 15 minutes without opening the hatch. You also need to make sure your kill-switch lanyard is attached and that you're wearing a vest if you're on plane.
Old 08-09-2008, 04:59 PM
Registered

Hi Chris,

sure, it's a crownline 205 br with a 4.3 merc efi 210hp, small i know next to some of the engines i've seen on this forum!

during my course the guy covered everything except the throttle control, we did the course on a rib with an outboard, during the startup he commented about my throttle control having a clutch and his not (with the rib we turned the ignition key with the throttle control in neutral and that was it), what i'm aiming at is that my button on the throttle control is presumably the clutch? do i depress that and use throttle control to rev a bit when starting?

thanks
Old 08-09-2008, 05:39 PM