Notices

454 problems

Old 07-04-2017, 09:35 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 454 problems

I purchased a new 39'Cruisers express in 2000.Unfortunately it has a pair of 454 7.5 fuel injected engines. It only has 650 hours on it. I recently had to replace the starboard engine. Then I reolaced a lot of the port engine oil coolers ,,risers ,,manifolds ,heat exchanger and on and on. Here is my problem The buzzer alarm keeps going of from( I even replaced the buzzer alarm ) f. I have switched all 7 sensors. I even installed a new battery. Nothing seems to help Can anyone out there shed some light if they have had similar experience. I live in Florida and even installed a "fresh water flush " system in it years ago. It is driving me crazy Any comments I do not even know if this is the correct forum to be in
Old 07-04-2017, 09:47 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

I'm not a mechanic - my first inclination would be to check ALL of the fluid levels - the outdrive and the depth sensor have caused me more "heart attacks" than you can shake a stick at - only to learn that I incorrectly set the depth alarm and was a little low on outdrive oil. Since it looks like you replaced a number of components - you may have inadvertently omitted or incorrectly connected sensor wires -- It may be less expensive in the in long run to have someone with a scanner - scan the engines and see if they are throwing an error code.

sorry I couldn't be more help

3pointstar
Old 07-04-2017, 02:20 PM
BUP
Banned

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts

First and foremost what in the heck engine brands do you have, then what ecms are used. 39 ft cruisers used a array of engine brands from Crusader, to marine power to Mercruiser to Volvo and so on plus what engine did buy for replacement and from whom and new or used ??

also what type of alarm --- beep beep or a solid Beeeeeeeepppppppp