Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Drives and Lower Units (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/drives-lower-units-217/)
-   -   neo oil results w 1000 hp in front of Bravo (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/drives-lower-units/315732-neo-oil-results-w-1000-hp-front-bravo.html)

articfriends 07-22-2014 10:49 PM

neo oil results w 1000 hp in front of Bravo

I have been running the NEO/bravo shop gear oil now for 2 years in my xr based/MAX WORX PARTS UPGRADED bravo one, I also used the custom fittings Mr gadgets uses to plumb a auxillary cooler and remote pump/filter to help filter and cool the oil, running no drive shower. Boat is a 272 Baja with 1000hp/1000ft lb of tq. After 50 hard hours the oil looks like new with no metal, no brinnelling of lower gear teeth yet and upper still looks virgin. This has been by far the best oil I have tried yet and the least amount of metal and damage/wear to this drive. Now, dont get me wrong, this drive has Max worx billet shafts, monster cap, cryo/isoe'd gears and I NEVER run 5 blade props (instantly sheared shafts in past with them), fwiw, Smitty

MILD THUNDER 07-22-2014 10:54 PM

Nice update smitty. Do you record the temp of the fluid?

BUP 07-22-2014 11:01 PM

If I was to send you some gear oil would you test the crap out it ? it is not NEO even thou I know them and their product are very high quality I do not have anything with that amount of hp in it. Actually I have 2 different formulas of gear oil. I also have the drive oil temp senders and temp gauges as well. Will start selling them soon. I am still testing them out.

mike tkach 07-22-2014 11:06 PM

what is the cost on the neo lube and how long do you run it before changing?

MILD THUNDER 07-22-2014 11:26 PM

Originally Posted by mike tkach (Post 4158202)