?'s About  1988 Sr-1 311 w/400hrs. >

?'s About 1988 Sr-1 311 w/400hrs.

Notices
Formula

?'s About 1988 Sr-1 311 w/400hrs.

Old 12-16-2008, 04:12 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ?'s About 1988 Sr-1 311 w/400hrs.

I am thinking of purchasing 1988 Formula Sr-1 311 for a guy locally, MN.

It has twin 454 with low hours, built to Mercury marine race specs. The outdrives are perfomance TRS.

This is all new language to me as I am just getting into the boating scene. I had to change hobbies due to a bad injury which forced my to sell the motorcycles.

All though I know a little bit about engines I am not to fluent in the boating terms.

Iwas curious as to how much maintenance this boat will require. I know the term high Performance can be used pretty losely and he is trying to sell the boat, but I have had several Ducati bike and they were considered High Maintenance and I did nothing really out of ordinary to them.

Maybe someone even knows the boat here. It is listed on ebay right now.

If you guys have any things I should look for or stay away from that would be awesome.

Thnaks,
Miles
Old 12-16-2008, 04:30 PM
Charter Member #415
Charter Member

The 311 is one of the finest models Formula ever built. Looks nice in the pics,but the main thing to remember is the boat is 20 years old. You must get a survey from a trusted surveyor,that is the most important thing. A few years ago a close friend bought a seemingly flawless 311,looked like it just left the factory it was so nice. Second trip out one engine blew,limping home,the other engine blew.When we pulled the engines we discovered rotted stringers. He spent a lot of money on 2 new engines and new stingers. He now has a perfect 311 that he loves,but his original purchase price doubled. Most 311 owners love their boats,just investigate the condition of things that may not be readily apparent. Good luck.
Old 12-16-2008, 07:47 PM
Registered

Thumbs up