370 SS Sea Trial

Notices
Formula

370 SS Sea Trial

Old 07-05-2016, 07:31 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default 370 SS Sea Trial

I'm going to sea trial a 2005 370 SS (496 HO's) soon, it's a fresh water, 300 hr, lift and under cover kept boat. I don't anticipate any problems and haven't heard of anything specific but is there anything I should keep an eye out for with this model/year boat? TIA

Last edited by afratki; 07-05-2016 at 08:55 AM.
Old 07-06-2016, 09:29 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not an expert:
I did just buy a used 2005 370SS fresh water that matches your description nearly exactly. We really like the boat.
I had a print-out of the original build sheet from Formula to check over on the boat, call formula vintage with HIN.
I did all the normal pre-purchase checks, made easier on the lift too. Everything checked out visually (and there's a ton of lockers, hatches, access ports to inspect with your phone camera and flashlight).
You should be able to reach 53-54 MPH @ 4900-5000 RPM to know drive train health.
Covers/isenglass take a while to run through, be patient if they aren't all up, take time to check through all of them. Easy to get new ones BTW.
Enjoy the quest, these are great boats.
Old 07-06-2016, 02:12 PM
Registered

Thanks for the reply. I had already requested the build sheet from Formula, they have great customer service. I'm planning to fly and go see the boat in a couple of weeks and have already started putting together a checklist of things to go over. I figure that will makes thing easier once I'm there since my time will be limited. I'll also have my brother in-law there to give me a hand.

I'm curious, what part of the country did you find your 370? Did you have a survey done? My insurance company says it's not required to insure the boat and I'm pretty knowledgeable so I'm considering forgoing the survey if the condition is on par with how it's been described.
Old 07-06-2016, 02:28 PM
Registered