Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Formula
F311 SR-1 Remote Drivelube Reservoir >

F311 SR-1 Remote Drivelube Reservoir

Notices

F311 SR-1 Remote Drivelube Reservoir

Old 08-25-2020, 06:04 PM
  #1  
Registered
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default F311 SR-1 Remote Drivelube Reservoir

I do not know if my 1988 big block formula 311 has remote Drive Lube reservoirs (Bravo 1 drives). Can anybody tell me where they might be located and maybe send a picture of what it might look like? I'm going to change the fluid in my bravo ones and want to include the reservoir if necessary.
thank you
F14A water jet is online now  
Old 08-25-2020, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Registered
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Taunton Ma
Posts: 7,881
Received 159 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

1988 did not use reservoirs
Unlimited jd is offline  
Old 08-25-2020, 08:14 PM
  #3  
Registered
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Unlimited jd View Post
1988 did not use reservoirs
so just fill the unit as normal. Do you have a recommended brand / style a drive oil?
F14A water jet is online now  
Old 09-11-2020, 01:54 PM
  #4  
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
TomZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,163
Received 66 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

Remember to fill from the bottom.

I've always used Quicksilver High Performance Gear Lube. Walmart has it pretty cheap. It is usually kept with the boating and fishing supplies (not with engine oils in the automotive section... though they do keep the standard gear lube there, go figure).

TomZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2020, 06:18 PM
  #5  
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
iTrader: (1)
 
offthefront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northeast,Fla
Posts: 4,887
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

You could add the resovores... I think there is a kit ..
offthefront is offline  
Old 09-27-2020, 06:24 PM
  #6  
Registered
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by offthefront View Post
You could add the resovores... I think there is a kit ..
Thanks, I will consider it after I resolve the issues from Hurricane Sally.
F14A water jet is online now  
Old 09-27-2020, 06:43 PM
  #7  
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
TomZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,163
Received 66 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

If the transom assemblies and drives are older, there isn’t a provision to add these. My ‘89 had them but my buddy’s ‘88 Cigarette does not.
TomZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2020, 06:54 PM
  #8  
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Smoke eater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Burlington Wisconsin
Posts: 518
Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F14A water jet View Post
Thanks, I will consider it after I resolve the issues from Hurricane Sally.

does this mean your making the repairs!?!!?
Smoke eater is offline  
Old 09-28-2020, 08:13 AM
  #9  
Registered
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 472
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Smoke eater View Post
does this mean your making the repairs!?!!?
Not necessarily. I am preparing for either eventuality rebuild or replace. Additionally, this experience is allowing / forcing me to learn more about these boats.
F14A water jet is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.