Notices
Formula

Newbie Considering a 382 SR-1

Old 09-23-2023, 03:18 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie Considering a 382 SR-1

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to boating and this forum. Although I’ve had jet skis for the past 20 years, I really don’t consider that the same as boating. My dad owned a 22’ Donzi when I was younger, and I’m really looking at getting into the power boating world. From what I’ve read, it seems these boats are falling out of style in favor of Center Consoles and fancy ski boats. Honestly, for me there is something really cool and sexy about a true Big Block (or two) driven go-fast boat, and really hope to end up in one. I don’t need the fastest boat on the lake, but I’d like something with respectable speed (60 mph is good enough for me), and something that my girlfriend and I can overnight on (needs to have a potty).

I’m really looking at a mid 90’s Formula 382 SR-1. It seems to check all of the boxes and is within an acceptable price-range for me. Also on the list a Baja 38 Special and Fountain 35 Lightning (all 90’s year models). My question is, how fussy are these boats on maintenance? If you had to guess, how much does it cost on average to operate these boats? What kind of annual maintenance is required for these boats other than winterization and oil changes? How often (hours) do the engines and drives need to be overhauled? Are these boats overall pretty reliable? I know a lot of this depends, but what’s a realistic maintenance cost number for an average 382?