Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Fountain (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/fountain-37/)
-   -   Bravo to 6’s? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/fountain/376842-bravo-6%92s.html)

twin69 08-24-2022 06:55 AM

Bravo to 6’s?

I have a 42 lighting big step staggered.
810hp
bravo1 -3 Imco shorys
Stelling boxes high up
Best run of 105 cold weather/low fuel
Question:
Will 6’s pick up any speed? I know the reliability with be much better.
pros and cons?

Quinlan 08-25-2022 05:01 AM

Pros- Roooost

jeff32 08-25-2022 06:35 AM

I am no pro at drives, but curious to read answers! I would think it would slow down a bit because being bigger it must drag more in water....

DrFeelgood 08-25-2022 06:45 AM

Originally Posted by jeff32 (Post 4842657)
I am no pro at drives, but curious to read answers! I would think it would slow down a bit because being bigger it must drag more in water....

More frictional losses internally sucks a bit of horsepower. Plus the need for a transmission, again, more frictional losses.

F-2 Speedy 08-25-2022 07:17 AM

Thats an expensive upgrade, transom work, move the engines, add trans, new exhaust. and on and on......IMO the #6 will eat more hp to spin them

Falcon 08-25-2022 11:40 AM

Current 6's and 8's do not take more hp to spin, even including a good hydraulic trans, at engine rpms above 5600 rpm. Parasitic losses are not a straight line curve and are not a simple percentage or flat number, as many people state or think. The Bravo parasitic losses go up fast at higher rpms. There is defintely more drag if not mounted high enough and the Six skeg is part of the reason too, but it is that large because it is intended to maintain control at very high mounting and running conditions.