Bravo to 6’s? >

Bravo to 6’s?

Notices

Bravo to 6’s?

Old 08-24-2022, 06:55 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bravo to 6’s?

I have a 42 lighting big step staggered.
810hp
bravo1 -3 Imco shorys
Stelling boxes high up
Best run of 105 cold weather/low fuel
Question:
Will 6’s pick up any speed? I know the reliability with be much better.
pros and cons?

Old 08-25-2022, 05:01 AM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 569 Likes on 262 Posts

Pros- Roooost
The following users liked this post:
dykstra (09-06-2022)
Old 08-25-2022, 06:35 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 364 Likes on 243 Posts

I am no pro at drives, but curious to read answers! I would think it would slow down a bit because being bigger it must drag more in water....
Old 08-25-2022, 06:45 AM
Registered

Received 971 Likes on 441 Posts

Originally Posted by jeff32
I am no pro at drives, but curious to read answers! I would think it would slow down a bit because being bigger it must drag more in water....
More frictional losses internally sucks a bit of horsepower. Plus the need for a transmission, again, more frictional losses.
Old 08-25-2022, 07:17 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 3,029 Likes on 1,347 Posts

Thats an expensive upgrade, transom work, move the engines, add trans, new exhaust. and on and on......IMO the #6 will eat more hp to spin them
Old 08-25-2022, 11:40 AM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Current 6's and 8's do not take more hp to spin, even including a good hydraulic trans, at engine rpms above 5600 rpm. Parasitic losses are not a straight line curve and are not a simple percentage or flat number, as many people state or think. The Bravo parasitic losses go up fast at higher rpms. There is defintely more drag if not mounted high enough and the Six skeg is part of the reason too, but it is that large because it is intended to maintain control at very high mounting and running conditions.