NY CT Documentation vs registration >

NY CT Documentation vs registration

Notices

NY CT Documentation vs registration

Old 09-20-2005, 07:14 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NY CT Documentation vs registration

Anyone from NY or CT know if there is any tax benefit in documenting a boat with the CG. I've read the posts re. this issue in other state. I'm looking at a sales tax bill of around $10K if I go the regular route as usual of just going to dmv and getting reg. stickers. At $4.00 p/gal. 10K would help alot next summer. The boat qualifies as it is 36ft and over 8K lbs. Ive also looked into NH registration (no sales tax) as I have a summer house there and could probably prove the boat spends 50% of its time up there.
Old 09-20-2005, 07:31 AM
Registered

Default Re: NY CT Documentation vs registration

I am a NY resident with CG documentation. Sales tax is due DMV to get sticker. Numbers on boat not required by name and calling port are.

Someone correct me if I am off.
Old 09-20-2005, 07:42 AM
DJD
Registered

X-Cited is right. If you document, you must obtain a documentation "sticker" from the DMV if the boat is going to be in CT waters more than 30 or 60 days. I'm not sure about the amount of days, it might be as much as 90. I know of two local yachts which are in tax disputes with the state & they can't come back to CT waters until taxes are paid.
Old 09-20-2005, 04:33 PM
Registered

Bottom line with documentation is this. It is legal but you have to prove it first. So a marine patrol unit will stop you just because he does not see any numbers on a boat. Or at least the sticker for the tax. If the bill is only $10k it is insurance not to get stopped when you are doing something wrong. In my opinion.....
Old 09-20-2005, 07:20 PM
CBR
www.hyperfishing.com
Platinum Member