Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   V-Hull vs. Cat Hull (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/113848-v-hull-vs-cat-hull.html)

knockoff 10-06-2005 05:53 PM

V-Hull vs. Cat Hull

This is going to seem like a total newbie question but, well, I'm a newbie...

What is the practical difference between a V and Cat hull of the same length? Handling? Stability? Plane out at different speeds? Cruise at different speeds? Fuel efficiency? One can handle bigger waves? One handles chop better? HP requirements?

Thanks.

WeaponX 10-06-2005 06:21 PM

Re: V-Hull vs. Cat Hull

Good Lord here we go again.
CATS ONLY!!!!! :evilb:

OU Want Some?!! 10-06-2005 06:23 PM

1 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by 3600cat
Good Lord here we go again.
CATS ONLY!!!!! :evilb:

EXACTLY!! :D

once you go cat.....you never go back!! :eureka:

The Menace 10-06-2005 06:31 PM

Originally Posted by OU Want Some

Hey OU that WAS my line. But you can use it becasue it is TRUE!

knockoff 10-06-2005 06:32 PM

LOL, smartasses...

I'm not looking to start a pissing contest by the 2 factions... just some generalizations that both would agree on...

LostinBoston 10-06-2005 06:48 PM

Cats are generaly faster and turn much tighter and handle much better then stepped v-hulls.

knockoff 10-06-2005 06:51 PM

Originally Posted by LostinBoston
Cats are generaly faster and turn much tighter and handle much better then stepped v-hulls.

What about in rougher water? Do a cat and V hull handle it the same?

Comanche3Six 10-06-2005 07:44 PM

Originally Posted by knockoff

Deep V for the rough stuff

RedDog382 10-06-2005 07:55 PM

Originally Posted by Comanche3Six

The bottom line here ... :D

ratman 10-06-2005 08:02 PM

deep v for a nice sized cabin for the ladies. hard to beat deep v in big water

The Menace 10-06-2005 08:39 PM