Notices

Key West Run in April

Old 01-13-2007, 02:16 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Key West Run in April

My family and I are planning to attend Key West run in April. I am new to offshore, 30 yrs experiance with jets and blown lake boats here in Arizona. Just purchased 99 38"AVS light layup Scarab. Our plans will be to attend poker run then Burmuda following. I would appreciate any input or suggestions any would have. I would also like to note if any individuals from this site will also be attending poker run and follow up trip to Burmuda.
Old 01-13-2007, 07:40 AM
Registered

Default Re: Key West Run in April

I have done the Key West run in November several times and assume the April run will have the same stops. I've always left from Miami if so top off with gas it a long run to Ohio Key. When pulling in for the lunch stop get to the fuel dock ASAP, my first time I got to Bahi Honda first and got docked in! I was the last to the gas dock and ran to Key West by myself. Get a GPS chip for the Keys and a chart will help. When they say single file they mean it ,follow in line!!!! They run inside down to Bahia Honda then outside to Key West. Have fun.
Old 01-13-2007, 05:45 PM
Joe
Offshore Cowboy
Platinum Member

Received 28 Likes on 15 Posts

Sounds like you haven't driven a go-fast boat in the open ocean before ------ Be careful. If you catch a day w/ large swells, they can bite quick. The Capitan can always throw even the most knowledgable passenger out of a boat.

Make sure you "team up" with a local boater who's doing the run that'll hang back with you in case the above scenerio happens to you.

Carry "extra's" (impellars, filters, props, 2 VHF's, battery powered GPS, duck tape etc....).

Watch out for the nutty "weekend warrior" captains who don't drive so well (or under control).