Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Luxury Superboat? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/245858-luxury-superboat.html)

ExoticDesign 01-17-2011 06:24 PM

Luxury Superboat?

Greetings,

I am a college student that has been given the opportunity to work on a design project. The idea is to combine what we enjoy about fast, beautiful racing boats with a sense of luxury for personal enjoyment. Being that this is a purely conceptual idea I was hoping I could get some insight on what things I could focus on to help further back my story of my design. If you would be so kind, don't hesitate to mention even the simplest thoughts, due to my very small background on the topic. Im interested in ideal sizes, propulsion system, hull shapes and etc. Of course as well as how we can improve the "green" aspects of it, and possibly how to make them quieter. Thanks in advanced for your help.

-Matt

sy goldberg 01-17-2011 06:34 PM

Possible Answer

Check out the several versions of the SUNSEEKER SUPERHAWK.

Smarty 01-17-2011 06:42 PM

Some questions regarding your assigment.
1. What is the range of your prosposed design in size (how feet long)?
2. Unlimited Budget?
3. Purpose of the vessel?
4. Optimum speed?

For the purposes of going very fast the catamaran design is best, and there are some luxury cats out there that go very fast such as Statement Marine's offering (Skater, Nortech, Outerlimits also make catarmarans and are nice choices):

http://www.statementmarine.com/

If you are looking for not so fast, but fast for its class in the luxury yacht design I like Lazzara (not a catamaran but an excellent designer &builder):

http://www.lazzarayachts.com/

or if you want yo really get some ideas of fast and CAD design go to the Mystic site:

http://www.mysticpowerboats.com/

Good luck with your project.