Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
May possibly live on a boat for a few years... >

May possibly live on a boat for a few years...

Notices

May possibly live on a boat for a few years...

Old 05-12-2012, 06:26 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default May possibly live on a boat for a few years...

I am a physical therapist and am getting divorced. I have no kids and can take a job and travel which will result in a 50% pay raise, signing bonus, room and board stipend, etc.

I'm in my early 30s and my dream has always been to travel, live on a boat, and travel along the coast. I'd buy a motorcycle as I have ridden most of my life, carry it in the back of my truck to my next assignment, drop off the truck and ride the bike back to the boat, load the bike onto the boat, and then run the boat to the next marina. The boat would take the place of the mortgage and the marina fees would be more than covered by the living expenses stipend.

My first thought for a boat I could live on for a few years and hav fun entertaining is the Formula 40SS. Can you all relay any personal experiences of living on a boat and tell me what other boats I should be looking at?

Thanks a lot. I'm looking to start traveling in about 4 months once I have 2 years experience and will patiently look for the right boat around that time.

Last edited by chris@uga; 05-12-2012 at 06:28 PM.
Old 05-12-2012, 06:37 PM
Registered

Good luck. Sounds like fun. I would do it. Artie
Old 05-12-2012, 06:51 PM
Registered

Received 87 Likes on 49 Posts

chris,it sounds like you have a plan,you are young,i say go for it.i hope the new job is in a place with a warm climate all year long,good luck and have fun.
Old 05-12-2012, 06:51 PM
Banned

What a dream, not really feasible
Old 05-12-2012, 06:54 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by Sbarberdds
What a dream, not really feasible
why not?
Old 05-12-2012, 07:11 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member