Notices

Critique my 454 build

Old 04-01-2014, 05:15 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Critique my 454 build

Hey guys im not new to boating or building engines but i am new to building boat engines. Any how ive got a 22 pachanga with the 330/ alpha combo. Currently engine and drive are in great shape just would like a little more topend and faster cruise speed Im going to be collecting parts this summer for a mild build next winter. I have some aluminum 496 take off manifolds that will be going on later this month.

So far ive picked up a set of 781 heads. Plans with them are a casting clean up with larger stainless and inconel valves. Ill be doing the cleanup on them and my machinist will be doing the valves. Hes a car guy but what should i have him set the valve clearance at? With harland sharpe roller rockers that i already have.

On top of the heads i plan to use an oval port eddie airgap and holley 750 or just keep the quadrajet with larger jets, Plans for the cam are the Crane 132561 with new lifters as long as you all think that my 496 exhaust will be ok without reversion.

All of this will be going on tthe stock bottom end and i really only want to make about 400-415 as an attempt to make my alpha live for a couple more seasons where i can upgrade to a different boat or bravo.

Boat gps'd at 63 in perfect conditions looking to get up within a couple mph of 70.
Thanks for reading and posting.
Old 04-01-2014, 06:23 PM
Registered

My suggestion, start by replacing the Alpha with a Bravo with external steering, . Going faster with that Alpha drive could be unsafe when it comes apart. The build you are considering should take your boat over 70 MPH and the boat really needs external steering to be safe, at minimum a single ram setup, does not necessarily have to be full hydraulic helm.