Notices

hard lessons.

Old 04-11-2017, 01:19 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Jupiter Sunsation
In this case, the owner even had some racing experience in catamarans. In the Lake Lanier case, both couples were long time high speed boaters. Everyone knew the risk but nobody planned on dying that day either. The Lanier case didn't publish the crash results but said high speed was a factor and oddly no toxicology results were obtained but police reported finding large quantities of alcohol at the crash scene.

I have zero catamaran experience and have never operated a boat at 100+ mph. I can see how these boats get out of control as they are damn near airplanes at certain speeds (packing air) and with over 2500 HP there is plenty of power to get the operator in trouble quickly.

I would think think after multiple fatalities in Somerset, Lanier and LOTO (all with experienced owners) the insurance companies are going to be the ones that put the brakes on owning these types of boats.
I can assure you the people that have these class of boats can afford the insurance on them no matter what it costs. All it will do is keep normal people like me from being able to afford it on my moderately powered boat.
Old 04-11-2017, 01:25 PM
Registered

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by hotrodford
damn near airplanes is right on , how about a flying wing like a Horton but w zero controls and no way to keep it pointed in even one direction /
Not in any way an accurate statement.
Old 04-11-2017, 01:35 PM
Registered

Received 258 Likes on 149 Posts

the insurance companies are going to be the ones that put the brakes on owning these types of boats.

You don't NEED insurance to own and operate a boat. Finance it yes.
Old 04-11-2017, 01:43 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post