Rebuilding two 1987 Merc 350’s

Notices

Rebuilding two 1987 Merc 350’s

Old 06-18-2018, 07:25 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding two 1987 Merc 350’s

Good evening ladies and gents,

I am pulling my 1987 Trojan 8.6 meter express out of the water soon and am looking to rebuild both engines. I have two Mercruiser 5.7’s with 4bbl Qjets and alpha1 outdrives. I am going to have the machine work done locally and build them myself. I cruise on plane around 27 knots. I wouldn’t mind adding a bit more hp but would LOVE to crank out some more torque. Should I stick with a stock 350 setup or push it up to 383’s. I have read quite a few threads similar to this but most people are working with newer engines with TBI or MPI. I’ll add that I AM a mechanic so I am definately gonna be doing this on a budget. Thank you all in advance for sharing your wisdom.

Billy
Old 06-19-2018, 07:35 AM
Registered

Received 118 Likes on 80 Posts

383 by far. With the cheap price of aftermarket rotating assembly's now it's crazy to build a stock stroke 350. To take advantage of the cubes you will then need to upgrade cam/heads, intake, carb. No reason to add cubes and then restrict it with stock parts.

Lastly, torque and alpha 1 don't like each other. Especially on a heavy cruiser. What's the condition of drives? Original?
Old 06-20-2018, 05:37 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Ryan00TJ
383 by far. With the cheap price of aftermarket rotating assembly's now it's crazy to build a stock stroke 350. To take advantage of the cubes you will then need to upgrade cam/heads, intake, carb. No reason to add cubes and then restrict it with stock parts.

Lastly, torque and alpha 1 don't like each other. Especially on a heavy cruiser. What's the condition of drives? Original?